German Chocolate French Macarons


German Chocolate French Macarons | Posh Little Designs

After traveling to NY last month and visiting Ladurée, I’ve become a little more obsessed with french macarons. Not gonna lie, I’ve been thinking about them quite often and regretting not bringing home more from the city. More than anything I think visiting Ladurée has inspired me to become better at making macarons. My mom’s birthday last weekend seemed like the perfect opportunity to try my hand at making them again, this time flavored like german chocolate cake, since that’s her favorite dessert.

I just happened to have all the ingredients on hand in my pantry to make the german chocolate cake macarons, but none left to spare. Of course that meant if I experienced a mess up, it would basically be tragic and more than anything a waste of time, but luckily there were no tragedies in my kitchen last weekend. Instead I was thrilled when I placed the shells in the oven and watched them rise, feet and all. If you’ve ever made french macarons before, the term “feet” is one worth celebrating, and that I did, over a glass of sauvignon blanc.

 These German chocolate cake macarons were only my 3rd attempt at making them, and although far from perfect, they were much improved from my last batch. I credit the awesome recipe for the macarons I found via Wives with Knives which I followed exactly, only substituting the butter and evaporated milk in the german chocolate filling to make the macarons dairy free and do note that the shells and filling is also gluten free.

German Chocolate French Macarons | Posh Little Designs

Seriously if you love french macarons and german chocolate cake, I highly, highly recommend this recipe! They are a little intimidating to make at first, but I assure you with practice they become easier and easier. Next time around I’ll just have to grind down my almond meal to a finer consistency and add a few more folds to the batter for a smoother shinier shell, but the flavor was there nonetheless.

Most importantly, my mom was absolutely delighted by her sweet birthday gift, which was a reward in itself.

And for an extra reward, I enjoyed tea and a few leftover macarons on the morning of the first day of Fall as the rain began to fall. The perfect way to bring in the new season.

Thanks as always for reading and Happy Fall! Much more to share soon.

xo

All Images are photographed and owned property of Posh Little Designs. All Rights Reserved 2014

6 thoughts on “German Chocolate French Macarons

Leave a Reply

