Make: Pumpkin Spice Soft Pretzels (V)

I really do love pumpkins and have been determined to bake something special with them this season, the only thing is I’m not such a fan of pumpkin pie, I don’t do dairy, so a pumpkin spice latte is out of the question (I’m guessing I’m really missing out). So, other than the ombre pumpkins I made last month, and my less than perfect attempt at carving them for Halloween last week, my life has pretty much been pumpkin free this entire fall. Sad story!! That is until now, because recently I came across a recipe that fits perfectly into the fall/comfort category and with a few adjustments, exceeds the pumpkin-y taste I’ve been seeking! And, the best part of all is that the recipe is both vegan and dairy free!

Hello Vegan Pumpkin Spice Soft Pretzels.

Vegan Pumpkin Spice Soft Pretzels - PLD

Pumpkin Spice Soft Pretzels (V)

These pretzels are soft and doughy with a subtle hint of pumpkin, cinnamon and spice. The sea salt top adds a sweet and salty dimension making them a must try for Fall.

Ingredients

1/4 oz package of active dry yeast

1 cup warm water (to activate yeast)

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (or replacement) use more if needed

1 teaspoon pumpkin spice blend

3 tablespoons organic pumpkin puree

1 well-greased bowl

Parchment lined baking sheet.

For boiling

7 cups water

1/2 cup baking soda

For topping

2 teaspoons pumpkin spice blend

1 tablespoon sea salt

Vegan Pumpkin Spice Soft Pretzels - PLD

Instructions

Combine yeast, sugar, and warm water in a large mixing bowl to agitate until the yeast is fully dissolved. Allow to stand for 5 minutes.

Gradually add 2 1/2 cups of flour (setting aside 1/4 cup), and mix until soft dough forms.

Once the dough forms, add in the pumpkin puree and pumpkin spice blend and remaining 1/4 cup flour.

Check the consistency of the flour to make sure it’s neither sticky, or too dry. If too sticky, you can add additional flour until the correct consistency is achieved.

Remove from mixer and turn the dough onto a clean work surface until consistency is smooth (this takes about 3-4 min).

Place dough into greased bowl and allow to rise in a warm spot for approximately 1 hour, or until doubled in size.

For topping

While the dough is rising, mix together pumpkin spice and sea salt mixture and set aside.

Preparation of dough

Once dough has risen, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Punch down the dough and move onto a clean countertop.

Separate your dough into 8 pieces, rolling each piece into 1/2″ thick ropes.

I chose to make my pretzels smaller, so I cut the 8 ropes in halves, for more quantity.

Take each of the 16 ropes and twist them into pretzel shapes, sealing both ends.

Set aside.

For boiling

Bring the 7 cups of water and baking soda to a boil.

Once boiling, drop each finished pretzel into the water for about 30 seconds and remove with a slotted spoon.

Place each pretzel onto parchment lined baking sheet and top with pumpkin spice sea salt mixture.

Place in the oven and Bake unto golden. I baked mine for about 7 minutes and they came out perfect!

Recipe adapted from: Dairy Free Cooking about.com

Vegan Pumpkin Spice Soft Pretzels - PLD

The pretzels were the perfect accompaniment to big mug of rooibos chai the other morning. The ultimate comfort! And my two girls had them for lunch the other day and loved them as well!

Vegan Pumpkin Spice Soft Pretzels - PLD

Because of their size, these pretzels would make a delicious and also cute party appetizer! I can imagine them now with a dark chocolate dipping sauce or drizzle. Sounds absolutely heavenly, if I do say so my self. And speaking of parties….my birthday just happens to be this Thursday! Although a year older, I’ve truly learned to embrace my 30s because they’ve been filled with so many blessings, that it’s difficult to count them all. I’m incredibly grateful to be celebrating with my dear friends and family all weekend long and promise to have snippets to share with you soon.

With that said, happy November! I hope you give this recipe a try!

Thanks for reading!

xo

All Images are photographed and owned property of Posh Little Designs. All Rights Reserved 2013.

2 thoughts on “Make: Pumpkin Spice Soft Pretzels (V)

Leave a Reply

