Edible Easter Baskets – DIY

We’ve finally been experiencing some warmer weather here at home but over the weekend I chose to stay indoors. For some reason I was in a total mood for baking so I spent most of my Saturday and Sunday creating in the kitchen and coming up with concepts for next weekend’s Easter celebration. I love when my schedule allows spare time for this and I also love that my hubby was nice enough to take my daughters out for the afternoon so I could create in peace and quiet.

Easter for us is all about our little girls and so this time around I’m sharing a festive DIY suitable for children and inspired by my little ones. If you have kids too, they will LOVE to help you create these.

A fun alternative to the basic Easter basket with customized ingredients for little ones with allergies.

Sweet to look at and even sweeter to eat.

edible Easter baskets DIY

Mini Edible Easter Baskets

Sugar Cookie Cups

I made the “baskets” by using a mini muffin pan and my favorite sugar cookie recipe. Since I cannot eat dairy, I substituted the butter in the recipe for vegan buttery sticks.

Preheat oven to 375

Using your favorite sugar cookie recipe (you can even use store-bought,) roll prepped dough onto floured surface until about 1/4 inch thick.

Cut dough into circle shapes using a round cookie cutter or drinking glass.

Mold the circles of dough into each muffin tin cup, sealing the edges, while also being certain that the dough has no tears.

DIY Easter Baskets

Gently puncture the center of each cookie dough cup with a fork to stop it from rising.

Bake in the oven for 5-7 minutes.

Remove from oven and set aside to cool.

Remove cookie cups from muffin tin by gently loosening the seal with a butter knife.

Below is an image of the finished cookie.

DON’t worry if they aren’t perfectly shaped. Once you put them in the muffin tins, you won’t even be able to notice.

DIY - Edibile Easter Baskets

 Filling/Supplies

Feel free to customize the ingredients based on what your children enjoy the most.

Edible Easter Grass (this stuff tastes like cardboard, but it went along with the edible theme so I got it anyway. I found mine at Target.) Snip it into bite size pieces using kitchen shears.

Annie’s Organic Gummy Fruit Bunnies

Edible Sugar Pearls

Jelly Beans

Mini muffin tin liners

Silver twist ties (they usually accompany cellophane bags)

Cupcake wrappers (optional)

Easter Basket Supplies

Instructions

Steps 1 & 2

Pour edible Easter grass into cup, filling most of the way full.

Top with edible sugar pearls for the always necessary touch of posh.

DIY Instructions

Steps 3 & 4

Add 2 Jelly Beans to each mini basket.

(I also made a few vegan chocolate hearts from another project I’ll be sharing later this week. So I added one of these to the basket as well.)

Add 1 gummy bunny.

DIY Instructions

Steps 5 & 6

Place filled cookie basket into muffin tin.

Place muffin tin wrapped basket into cupcake wrapper (optional.)

DIY Instructions

Steps 7 & 8

Bend twist tie into “U” shape.

Insert each side of U-shaped twist tie in-between cookie and muffin tin.

Please Note: The twist tie is easily removable. If you’re looking for something more secure you can always attach the twist tie to the muffin tin with a few small pieces of tape.

DIY Instructions

And there you have it!

Edible Easter baskets and instant fun for the your little ones!

Mini Edible Easter Baskets

I hope you enjoy making and eating these as much as we did!

Edible Easter Baskets

But wait, there’s more!! Another edible Easter DIY is on the way so be sure to check back later this week.

xo

This DIY concept was seen first on Posh Little Designs. All images are photographed and owned property of Posh Little Designs. All Rights Reserved 2013.

Leave a Reply

