Homemade Vanilla Bean Marshmallows

I’ll admit that I’ve never really been a big fan of marshmallows, but that must be because I’ve only ever tried the store bought versions. That is until now. I made some from scratch the other day, only because I felt like they’d add the ‘posh’ factor to my hot cocoa, but the results were a pleasant surprise.

I found the recipe for these at My Baking Addiction, and adjusted a few steps to my liking.

They were not only really simple to make, but I can admit that after tasting them, I became a bit addicted. It must be because they melted beautifully in my cocoa…I honestly can’t think of a better accompaniment. In fact, these marshmallows turned out so fabulous that I plan to make them again, for upcoming celebrations and will be sure to make extra as I know they will go quickly.

Homemade Vanilla Bean Marshmallows

Ingredients~

3/4 cup water divided

3 (.25 ounce) packages unflavored gelatin

2/3 cups light corn syrup

2 cups white sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract (I used 1 fresh vanilla bean instead)

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/4 cup powdered sugar

Directions~

Line a 9×9 inch baking dish with plastic wrap that’s sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Spray additional piece of plastic wrap to cover the top and set aside.

Place 1/2 cup of water in the bowl of an electric mixer and add gelatin to water to soak.

While gelatin is soaking add 1/4 cup water, corn syrup and white sugar to sauce pan. Bring mixture to boil over medium heat for 1 minute.

Pour hot sugar mixture into gelatin and beat on high, using a whisk attachment. Beat for 12 minutes until mix is fluffy and forms stiff peaks. Add in vanilla extract and mix until just combined.

Pour mixture into baking dish using a greased spatula to smooth top. Cover marshmallow mixture with remaining prepared plastic wrap, pressing down lightly to seal.

Allow to rest for 4 hours, or overnight.

Mix together cornstarch and powdered sugar in a dish. Using greased scissors, or a knife, cut the marshmallows, dredging lightly in the cornstarch mixture and they’re ready to enjoy.

Store in airtight container.

Notes~

Use an extract or food coloring of your choice to add a hint of flavor and color.

If making for a special occasion, cut with a festive cookie cutter.

My posh twist: fresh vanilla bean, red food coloring and a heart shaped cookie cutter for Valentine’s Day.

Recipe Source: My Baking Addiction adapted from allrecipes.

7 thoughts on “Homemade Vanilla Bean Marshmallows

  1. Wow, homemade Vanilla Bean Marshmellows, now that’s a mashmellow I could love. Yummy! And so imaginative as well. I can’t wait to taste them. Yum.

  2. Pingback: Sophisticated S’mores « posh little designs

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Spiced Marshmallows « posh little designs

  4. Pingback: Red Velvet Hot Cocoa + Cream Cheese Frosting Marshmallows « posh little designs

Leave a Reply

