Posh Treats ~ Snow Ice Cream

We’ve undergone quite a winter blast here in Washington in the last week and I literally have over a foot and a half of snow outside my home. I am officially snowed in and have been trying to avoid falling victim to cabin fever. Here’s a delicious treat that I made today while waiting for the snow to melt. This one brings me back to me childhood!

Snow Ice Cream, with a little ‘posh’ twist!

My Father use to make this frosty dessert for me and my siblings when we were kids. It was one of those recipes that was never written down. He really just added his special touches and it always turned out perfect. Unfortunately he passed away and I never had the opportunity to ask him for it, but after much research and tasting, I came up with a version that’s not exact, but will do.

Ingredients~

14 cups of clean snow.

1 cup milk.

1 teaspoon quality vanilla extract.

3/4 cups regular or powdered sugar, to taste.

Directions ~

Place large bowl outside to collect snow once it begins to fall.

Once full, measure out 12 cups in a separate bowl, setting the 2+ extra cups aside.

Stir in cup of milk, followed by 1/2 cup of the sugar and the teaspoon of vanilla.

Mix ingredients together well.

Once blended, taste, then add the remaining sugar and snow until desired flavor and consistency is achieved.

Serve immediately and enjoy!

This is truly a fun family tradition to start with your children, and would be a fabulous dessert idea for a sleepover or even a kids party! My 2 year old daughter just loved being involved!

Oh and of course I couldn’t consider it ‘posh’ without a few extra embellishments. I added silver and white sugar pearls for the glam factor!

Notes~

This recipe is very forgiving. If it’s a little too sweet add more milk. If not sweet enough, add more sugar. You could also stir in extracts, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla bean or really anything else that suits your fancy. Whole milk or heavy whipping cream will make for a richer and thicker Ice Cream.

Leave a Reply

